My Big Black Binder

I wanted to share this experience with you. I got up one morning to get on my way to work. I was going to ride my bike but, before I left, I had to get something out of my car. It was a big black binder. The kind that actually had some weight to it. Well, I put the binder in my bag and got on my way. I got to my first stop and started down the longest part of the trip. Whew!! Talk about tough. I had gone down this road many times but today was just crazy. There is a little bit of an incline on the way. Not really a steep grade but, it was definitely noticeable that day. My legs burned and I was getting winded fast. Now, while I’m not in that bad of shape, I know that I shouldn’t have gotten this bad this fast; especially since this wasn’t some new route that I was taking. When I reached my first stop, my heart was racing pretty bad. I had to walk it off for a few minutes. After a few hours of work, I had to go to the next stop so, off I went. This time, I had the wind against me as well. Talk about a struggle! For you totally athletic folks out there, this may not seem like a big deal but just indulge me for a moment. Anyway, there I was struggling to make it to this next stop. Finally, I made it. Legs sore and almost out of breath. Well, this was also the place where I dropped off the binder. When I got home, I needed to rest my legs a lot!

The next day I got myself together for another ride. WOW!!! Talk about a great ride! I was able to get a lot of speed that day. In fact, it felt like a new ride altogether. I was going faster and I wasn’t really putting a lot of effort into it. I was wondering what the deal was until after I got to work. The day before I had a lot of weight to carry. Since I have a backpack the weight was literally on my shoulders and it made it difficult to ride on the. But, since the I didn’t have that extra weight, I was able to ride faster.

Where am I going with this? Take a look at the definition of the word BURDEN:

1. that which is carried; load: a horse’s burden of rider and pack.

When I was carrying that big black binder, I had a hard time riding but as soon as I did not have the big black binder, I was able to ride faster, farther, and I wasn’t as tired. When we are on this life’s journey, there will be times when you will carry a big black binder in your life. There will also be times that when you are carrying the weight of your own big black binder, you will going uphill. Even still there will be more times when you will not only be carrying your big black binder uphill, there will also be some harsh winds that will be blowing against you. Yes, you are going to get sore and yes, you will get tired to the point that the journey will not seem like it’s worth taking but Jesus made is very clear to us in Matthew 11:28-30 that if you give your burdens to Him, He will even trade with you:

28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

So you see, there’s no need to get to down about it. Life is definitely not easy. Your big black binder probably has a lot more stuff than it should and that’s ok. Just leave the binder with God and He will trade with you. When you take make that trade, the journey will get easier and your will be able to travel a lot farther. The winds will still be there and so will the hills. The binder serves a purpose and it will help you build your strength. That way, you leave it with God, your journey gets easier…

Leave a Reply

