WWJD (What Would Jabez Do)

Good Morning Readers;

It’s a great day.  Why? Well, we’re alive, so that about sums it up for me. 

We’ve been studying the prayer of Jabez in Bible Study and I have to say that this prayer is deeper than any prayer I have ever prayed in my entire life.  The cool thing about it is that it’s not this long winded speech that we have witnessed or encountered at some worship services.  In fact, it’s quite simple yet packs more in it in one verse than, in my opinion, any other prayer in the entire Bible.  Look at this:

1 Chronicles 4:10

10And Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying, Oh that thou wouldest bless me indeed, and enlarge my coast, and that thine hand might be with me, and that thou wouldest keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me! And God granted him that which he requested.

Do you see how simple that request is?  Ok, well, look at how much in packed inside that one verse.  Jabez asked God to “bless me indeed”.  What he is asking God to do is bless him DEFINITELY!  We’re talking about a man whose name means, “Because I bare him with sorrow”.  What a way to start your life!  Your were given a name that meant that you came into this world in an already bad situation.  Jabez knew this so, since he had a name that came with negative vibes, he said, “God, I know my name isn’t the greatest but, could you just please bless me definitely because I need that more than anything.”

He also asked for God to “enlarge my coast”.  This may seem like he’s talking about real estate or lots of material things that some may feel content with.  That’s not what he was asking for.  Jabez ask for his territory to be enlarged not for the sake of gaining more land but, for the sake of the blessing, period.  When you ask God to enlarge or increase your coast or territory, you’re asking Him to bless you and all that you will come in contact with.  In other words, “bless me so that I can be a blessing.” 

When Jabez said, “that thine hand might be with me…”, he is asking God, “I know that you will bless me greatly, and I also know that you will increase my territory.  However, there is still this issue with my name so, I need you to keep your hand on me so that they will see YOU when they see ME. 

Ok, pay attention to this part.  Jabez said, “…and that thou wouldest keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me…”  We all know that the enemy will ALWAYS be on his job.  That, dear readers, is a given.  However Jabez asked God to keep him from evil.  Keep HIM from evil!  In other words, “God you have done all of this for me and I thank you but, PLEASE keep me from ME from evil.”  Since he asked that God’s hand be with him, he also needed God’s help to not gravitate to places where he shouldn’t be.  He know evil would find him but, he didn’t want to go find evil and when he didn’t go and find evil, he didn’t want to be too upset about it either.

Finally, after all of that, God granted him what he asked for.  See how simple that is?  All we need to do is ask.  There are a myriad of blessings that are in store for us but we need to ask.  That’s what Jabez did.

Until next time…

One response to “WWJD (What Would Jabez Do)

  1. Pingback: After Jabez: Now What? « Myzenmypiece's Blog

Leave a Reply

